23/8/23 Action of Protest

Welcome to Wondercafe2!

A community where we discuss, share, and have some fun together. Join today and become a part of it!

ninj

Pronouns
She/Her/Her
It's hard to imagine that anyone hasn't heard by now. Meta has been flexing it muscles to pull news content from their platforms for Canadian users. Despite all the reassurances that news is always available outside, you can no longer post/share news on Facebook and Instagram. That has a real impact on anyone who routinely shares and discusses news.
Besides, what kind of heartless dick does this in the midst of a fire catastrophe?

Is anyone participating in the two-day boycott? I am, despite the temptation of checking in.

Is anyone participating in the two-day boycott?
I've been boycotting Meta's properties for a few years now. Nothing to do with this of course. More to do with their general attitude that all our data is theirs to make money off of. Zuckerberg is particularly tone-deaf about privacy, protesting when Apple tightened up privacy controls on iDevices, but his board and executive team in general seem quite openly hostile to any kind of right to privacy for their users. Is it a pain to not be on there? At times. But I am not enamoured of the platform anyhow and find forum-type platforms more to my liking in any case.

I thought the Canadian government shut them down in Canada first, and now their begging Meta to use theyre platform for the wildfires?
I'd rather use a more reliable source for wildfire news personally.

I thought the Canadian government shut them down in Canada first, and now their begging Meta to use theyre platform for the wildfires?
I'd rather use a more reliable source for wildfire news personally.